Since the overturning of Roe v. Wade, abortion laws have been changed and blocked from state to state. If considering abortion, it can be confusing to understand where abortion laws stand in your state.
As of June 2023, abortion in North Carolina is banned after 20 weeks, 6 days of pregnancy.
Exceptions that could allow you to get an abortion in North Carolina after 20 weeks and 6 days of pregnancy include:
- To save the pregnant person’s life
- To prevent serious risk to the pregnant person’s physical health
New Abortion Restrictions Explained
Since the 12-week abortion ban veto override, abortion will still be legal in North Carolina after July 1, 2023. There may be new restrictions limiting abortion due to a North Carolina law that may go into effect on that day.
If the law goes into effect, abortion will be banned after 12 weeks, 6 days of pregnancy in North Carolina.
Before An Abortion
Do you live in North Carolina and are considering an abortion? Safeguard your health with pregnancy testing and an ultrasound. An ultrasound will verify how far along you are, where the pregnancy is located, and if the pregnancy is viable.
No-Cost Pregnancy Services
If you have a positive pregnancy test, you may require an ultrasound. We offer no-cost limited obstetrical ultrasounds onsite so you can get answers about your pregnancy.
Eligibility criteria apply to receive your no-cost ultrasound. Check with us to see if you qualify.
Once you confirm your pregnancy, we can discuss your pregnancy decision, which is unique to your situation. We’re here to help. You are not alone!